Posted in kitchen, Recipes, Uncategorized

Energy bites aka one of my favorite snacks EVER!

These have become one of my favorite snacks to have. They are great when you are hungry and in between meal time. They are also so incredibly easy to make and not messy!! After having done dishes the last three mornings, that is the most important thing at the moment!! I found the original recipe here.  Also don’t let the ingredient list freak you out! Beth was a little skeptical at first, then she tried it and I think she may like them as much as me!! (Bare with my pictures this time. I am still figuring out my fancy new camera!!) And the best part of these is Brandon doesn’t like coconut, so I don’t have to share!!

Ingredients list:

  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • ½ cup peanut butter (or other nut butter)
  • ⅓ cup honey
  • 1 cup coconut flakes
  • ½ cup ground flaxseed
  • ½ cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla

DSC_0071

DSC_0074

DSC_0075
Dump all ingredients in bowl
DSC_0077
Mix together and refrigerate for a while.
DSC_0082
Roll into balls and freeze (at least I put them in the freezer and they were amazing!!)

I made this with a mix of honey and agave nectar. I love honey, but it can be an overwhelming taste.  My next batch will be agave, apple butter and dried fruit in place of nut butter and chocolate chips.

These are probably some of my favorite “treats” to have on hand. I have come up with some other  versions and substitutes to try.  Here’s the list for you:

  • any nut butter
  • pumpkin puree/pumpkin pie spice
  • any nut
  • apple butter
  • agave nectar
  • dried fruit.

We would love to know your favorite combinations! Comment below or hastag #PPGenergybites and show us what ya got!

Whitney

 

Like what you see? Follow us on Instagram and Facebook for more updates.

Leave a comment