Posted in Nails

Because…Nail Polish Part 1

Today we are so excited to have our friend Nikki post on the blog. She always has the most fabulous nails and I wish I had her patience. Not being able to use my hands for a long period of time is not ok! But here she is…..

Hi, I’m Nikki! Nail polish enthusiast, new mom, and wife to the most awesome father and husband I could imagine. I am 23, soon to be 24 and living in Okinawa where I have made some of the best friends I’ve had in a long time. The military will throw you this way and that, and it’s hard to not get lost in all the craziness, the girls that I’ve made friends with here, including the fabulous Beth and the caring Whitney make living in a different country that much easier. But enough about me, let’s get on with The Nails!!

Because…Nail Polish. Pt 1

nicole and tommy

Introduction- Hi, I’m Nikki! Nail polish enthusiast, new mom, and wife to the most awesome father and husband I could imagine. I am 23, soon to be 24 and living in Okinawa where I have made some of the best friends I’ve had in a long time. The military will throw you this way and that, and it’s hard to not get lost in all the craziness, the girls that I’ve made friends with here, including the fabulous Beth and the caring Whitney make living in a different country that much easier. But enough about me, let’s get on with The Nails!!

 

I haven’t always been a girly girl, though I was always a cheerleader; I was also just one of the guys, I grew up rough housing with my older brother and all of his friends. The first time I remember being excited to wear a dress was my senior year and it was a cute paisley print summer dress, the first time I got my nails done was also my senior year, for prom. Ever since then I’ve had this infatuation with nail polish and all things that have to do with it. I was one of those girls that would go every two weeks with my BFF to get my acrylics filled and repainted, moving to North Carolina changed that however. I began collecting nail polish and playing around with crazy designs, that at the time I was so proud of, but looking back now, OMG I shouldn’t have gone out of the house with my fingers looking the way they did.

 

2011
(EEK! Circa 2011)

I really got into trying some new nail art ideas in 2011 when I was introduced to the wonders of Instagram. I found many accounts there that inspired me to try more, be more adventurous. With that being said, my nail art craziness has had to take a back burner lately with my four month old taking the front and center. When I can, usually when he naps, I try to get a quick mani in, a simple pattern here, some glitter there. Yesterday I started a mani, this morning I finished it, like most things that aren’t for baby, I don’t finish them the same day as I start them.

supplies

To stick with quick and simple I chose to do one color and stripes for an accent nail. My favorite base coat is OPI Natural Nail Strengthener, especially now that I am growing my nails out and so proud of their strength and length. Though I can’t find a shape I can stick to when filing them, I am all about growing them out.

tape
I’ve tried striping tapes many times, putting them on, painting over then pulling off, then I realized that I should leave them on and clear coat over the top, letting the tape be the stripes, not create the stripes. I just put them where I want then trim the extra off the edges, add clear coat and call it good!

finished product
(Final product)

For this mani I used Sinful Colors Hazard, an awesome Coral, which has always been one of my favorite go to colors (even prom 2009). I finished with silver striping tape on my pinky nail, and topped with OPI top coat. Maybe for my next post I’ll be able to do something more impressive and post-worthy. In the meantime you can always check out some of my other manicures, and adorable pictures of my baby boy on my Instagram page www.instagram.com/nik_roque .

 

Until then, be happy!! Why, you ask? Because…Nail Polish!!

Leave a Reply

