Posted in DIY

World Map

 

DSC_0112

This is a quick and easy project if you are looking for something fun to spice up your walls. Brandon and I love traveling and it is why we were so excited for the opportunity to move out here.

My parents have a two maps in their house that inspired this project. One is just a huge map that we always go to when figuring out where places are. The other is a scratch off map I bought for my mom for Christmas. I love the scratch off mom, but we have traveled to different places so this map doesn’t work for us.

Being my normal self I had to make something! We have this small wall by our laundry room, where this map originally started out. I searched high and low to find a map online (thinking I’d never find one and have to order it). To my surprise, my friend Sara took me to a store out in town called Niko and… and guess what?!?! I found the perfect size map. I just had to trim the edges off and it would fit perfectly! Once I  got home from shopping I wanted to get started.  (I really love the look of the vintage style maps or just something simple.)

I didn’t have the stickers I wanted to use on hand, but I thought…..(I bet you will never guess)….I can make them!! I went looking for shapes, Brandon was easy, he LOVES Batman!!! For the two of us a heart made perfect sense. I was having a really hard time figuring out what shape to do for myself. Then Brandon came in and said “a bow, duh!!!” Maybe not in those words exactly, but that’s what he seemed like.

I cut the shapes, then ran them through my Xyron. BAM!!! I have stickers. I stuck them on the map and now we have a custom map.  If  you don’t want to make stickers or don’t have the resources to make them, I found these really cute stickers on Etsy.

DSC_0113  DSC_0114

 

 

Stay tuned for another quick project!

Whitney

Leave a Reply

